Project

General

Profile

Bug #5555

Making Repository Public does not update the Default User Permissions

Added by Ricardo Rodrigues 16 days ago. Updated 14 days ago.

Status:
New
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
-
Category:
-
Target version:
Start date:
03.07.2019
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:
Sorting:
Commit Number:
Affected Version:

Description

Hello,

If I choose that Default User can see Public repositories, when one is created I can see it. Yet, if a make a repository private, then make it public again, the Default User can no longer see it.

If I want the Default User to see it again I need to go to the Permissions tab and activate it's permissions again.

NOTE: This is important when Anonymous Users are allowed, where they only see what the Default User sees.

History

#1 Updated by Marcin Kuzminski [staff] 14 days ago

Hi Ricardo,

This is an expected result. We set default user permissions to 'none' during setting private repository, and reset those permissions back after unchecking. Users should then review permissions again if they made this repository public.

#2 Updated by Ricardo Rodrigues 14 days ago

Hello Marcin,

Thank for the reply. Thank you for clarifying, yet I still think that, if no one changed the Permissions settings, when I make a repository public it should place the Default User to its default permissions.

A simple use case is to ignore the Permissions tab and only use the Private Repository option. If I make it Public again, I expect the Default User to be able to see it again, which it doesn't. (This assumes that the Default User has at least viewing permission for Public Repos)

#3 Updated by Marcin Kuzminski [staff] 14 days ago

I see the problem that things get set up in a way that is hidden from the users.

What if we show additional message to the users with a quick link to permissions tab that would say they have to review default permissions after making a repo public ?

#4 Updated by Ricardo Rodrigues 14 days ago

I would actually move the Private Repo option to the Permissions. Or remove it! xD

It is an important option when creating a Repo, but I think it's best removed when you have access to the Permissions panel. Having the two actually does more harm than good in my opinion. Mainly because (from what I see) the Private Repo option just sets to 'None' the options of the Default User, or does it do anything else?

Also available in: Atom PDF