Project

General

Profile

Bug #5493

RhodeCode removes pull requests when the origin fork is deleted.

Added by Josh Sunnex about 4 years ago. Updated almost 4 years ago.

Status:
Closed
Priority:
High
Assignee:
-
Category:
-
Target version:
Start date:
02.08.2018
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:
Sorting:
Commit Number:
Affected Version:

Description

This looks like it is built as a feature, not sure if it was by design or on accident. However, it is in-fact a huge issue with the workflow of RhodeCode.
If I fork a repository, make some changes then open a pull request and ultimately get that pull request to be accepted and merged into the upstream repository, I would expect that no matter what happens to my fork, the pull request will continue to be accessible for historical reference of that merge.
However, if on completion of the merge I decide to delete my fork, all data pertaining to that fork is also removed from the database. This includes the entries in the pull_requests and changeset_comments tables. It effectively blows away all historical data for that merge. That is terrible! If anything the entries in the database should be marked as "deleted" rather than just a straight up row delete. I was pretty shocked to see this.

#1

Updated by Marcin Kuzminski [CTO] about 4 years ago

  • Target version set to v4.14

Yes, the Deletion purges the repo content, and all attached repositories.

We know this might be not ideal, and as you pointed out keeping history is important. That is why we needed first to "save" the PR results even if the source/targets are not availably anymore, this was introduced in 4.13 as diff-caching. We'll introduce now an option to archive a repository, and not DELETE it, so it would keep all references. Also we'll make DELETE explicitly state what is going to be removed/detached.

We plan this for 4.14 in next 4-8 weeks.

#2

Updated by Redmine Integration almost 4 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Closed

Also available in: Atom PDF