Project

General

Profile

Feature #2539

Recursive deletion of resources

Added by Marcin Kuzminski [staff] almost 4 years ago. Updated over 3 years ago.

Status:
Feedback
Priority:
Normal
Assignee:
-
Category:
-
Target version:
-
Start date:
26.08.2015
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:
(Total: 0.00 h)
Sorting:
Commit Number:

Description

Ticket from support: https://rhodecode.tenderapp.com/help/discussions/problems/7125-rc-225-after-deleting-repo-groups-on-file-system-then-rescan-the-repo-groups-are-always-in-the-db

Use case:

  • gemalto needs to often delete large repository groups, current system doesn't allow doing it from web interface
  • users need to delete manually each repo inside repo group and then delete the group itself

Currently our system supports this operation in cleanup mode, so you can delete whole directory from the filesystem and run remap-and rescan. This is a workaround and should allow
big cleanup, but it's far from being straightforward to do.

We need a consistent interface for deletion of resource that hold other resources. This should currently include two places

  • user deletion (that hold repo groups/user groups/repositories)
  • repository group deletion (that hold other repositories)

You can delete user or repository group in two ways, goind to admin > users or admin > repo groups and clicking delete.
In case there are dependent objects, we should trigger a warning flash message, and redirect user to advanced settings section of user, or repo group. and allow them to do recursive delete.

There's already an interface for that in users advanced section, when you can select if you want to delete or transfer ownership of repositories or groups that user owns.
We should re-use the logic, and make the same option available to deletion of repository groups. The user advanced section also needs some small improvements.

Recursive delete should have two options.

  • delete resources
  • transfer ownership of resources to a different user in the system

Currently part of that is implemented in user > settings > advanced where we have delete or detach option.
Detach option unfortunetly picks the first super admin in the system which leads to
odd results and you cannot control to whom you need to transfer the ownership.


Subtasks

History

#1 Updated by Johannes Bornhold almost 4 years ago

  • Status changed from New to Feedback
  • Target version set to v3.6 - Sprint #20

Plan to deliver this in next Sprint. Keeping in Feedback until I got it prepared.

#2 Updated by Johannes Bornhold almost 4 years ago

Going to make this an epic and split it further up, would like to split the part with the users and the part with the repositories.

#3 Updated by Johannes Bornhold almost 4 years ago

  • Target version changed from v3.6 - Sprint #20 to v3.7 - Sprint #21

#4 Updated by Johannes Bornhold almost 4 years ago

  • Target version changed from v3.7 - Sprint #21 to v3.7 - Sprint #22

Moving the last ~10 things over into the next Sprint, it's unrealistic that we will get these done, since quite a few things roll over from the last sprint.

#5 Updated by Johannes Bornhold almost 4 years ago

  • Target version changed from v3.7 - Sprint #22 to 124

#6 Updated by Marcin Kuzminski [staff] over 3 years ago

  • Private changed from No to Yes

#7 Updated by Marcin Kuzminski [staff] over 3 years ago

  • Private changed from Yes to No

#8 Updated by Marcin Kuzminski [staff] over 3 years ago

  • Tracker changed from Support to Feature

#9 Updated by Johannes Bornhold over 3 years ago

  • Target version deleted (124)

Also available in: Atom PDF